PDA

View Full Version : Gone from my life, forever in my heart

Doc Martin
November 7th, 2013, 04:28
I’m new to this and wonder: ‘why am I posting this?’ Well, to be honest partly because I’m told that one way to deal with grief is to write it down, keep a journal etc. Whether this will turn out to be a journal or just a one-off post remains to be seen.

So, my story…

…my wife passed away in September the day before her birthday, we’d been married for over 27 years and together for over 28 years. She had a history of depression but aside from a minor ‘blip’ about 20 years ago had been free of it. Then, about 7 years ago it returned and she had battled with it since then. She had been in hospital a few times and had been on medication since it returned. My wife fought depression off and it would go into remission for a year or two so and then return for a while and so on. However until this September she had been completely free of depression for about 18 months. Indeed she really thought she had beaten it – previously she would say that she ‘wasn’t depressed’ but now she would say that ‘she was really well and it had gone away’. So, she was completely devastated when it returned a couple of months ago. I cannot imagine what it is like but I guess it’s like being told that your terminal illness has been cured only to find out that it hasn’t.

Anyway, on that fateful day I left for work leaving her asleep. When I returned she had passed away. No chance to say goodbye, nothing. One minute she’s there and then she’s gone. Then I had to deal with all the emergency services arriving and, of course, for a while I was under suspicion – soon resolved but strange none-the-less. I had police searching the house, tagging and bagging stuff, taking it away; paramedics doing tests and then the undertaker to remove her body for a post-mortem. I will have to attend a Coroner’s Inquest at some point and re-live everything.