PDA

View Full Version : Feeling Pretty Low

bayou316
November 20th, 2012, 22:13
Hi everyone. I am new to the site and hope to get and understand how I can cope with this.

Let me begin by saying I lost my wife December 16, 2011. I was blessed to be able to retire at an early age in life. She fought this very rare cancer for a little over two years.

I have been known as a strong man. I am a veteran and have been on my own since being drafted during my teenage years. I am the third of four children. I have kept my family together. I am the one who was known as the "jokester" or the one who resolved issues concerning matters with mom, dad or family problems.

My wife and I had one super daughter. Her mom got to see her graduate from college with her bachelors in nursing. The daughter has taken it very hard. I was raised by a dad who believed that men don't cry. I have instilled in me that belief. I have served our country during the Vietnam conflict and the first Gulf war.

Now my point. I am having a super hard time this year. I mean to the point of just simply wanting to give up. I take medicine for depression. I still find myself feeling down and out until the phone rings and then I fake it if it's my family on the line. I change 180 degrees. When I hang up; I back into that deep and dark pit of depression.

I haven't cried since the death of my spouse (Vicky). I am in bad shape right now.

I ask for any assistance. I also thank you in advance for any information any of you can provide.

hazelharris
November 21st, 2012, 04:08